Birthday Parties

The Storybarn at Calderstones

At The Storybarn, we believe everyone should have an extra-special birthday. Our parties are planned especially with the needs and preferences of the birthday girl or boy in mind.

We’ll work with you to create the perfect birthday bash for your child, building the session around one of six themes. The 90 minute session will be led by our Storysharers who will bring some favourite stories to life, run theme-related crafting activities, orchestrate the party games and lead the charge to the story slide. 

Storybarn Birthday Party Package (£230)

  • Exclusive use of The Storybarn.
  • 90 minute party with themed stories, crafts and games.
  • Maximum capacity 30 children (40 people in total).
  • 20% off purchases at the The Reader Ice Cream Parlour on the day of the party.

Optional Extras

  • An additional hour for party food in The Reader Ice Cream Parlour studio space.
    Want us to handle the catering? Choose from our Children’s Party Snack Boxes (sandwich, crisps, sweet snack and drink) for £5 pp or a Hot Dog and Milkshake for £3.95 pp. We also offer refreshments for the grown ups, with a pastry and hot drink for £3.50 pp or sandwich platters for £4 pp.
    Bringing your own food? Simply pay an additional £50 hire charge.

It’s Party Time

The time slots available for birthday parties at The Storybarn are:

  • Tuesday to Sunday, 10-11.30am, 3.30-5pm

Themes

Tremendous Chocolate

Birthdays and chocolate are the perfect pairing! Step inside our Great Glass Elevator and join us as we explore Roald Dahl’s beloved Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Ideal for fans of weird and wonderful confectionary, join us as we hunt for a elusive golden ticket, get creative in the Invention Room and dance around the Imaginarium like oompa loompas! Suitable for ages 7+

Sail Away on Your Birthday

Dive into a fabulous birthday experience as we embark on an exciting aquatic adventure. Whether you’re a fan of pirates and mermaids, or are intrigued by the mysterious world under the ocean, this party is guaranteed to open up a treasure trove of fun. Ideal for fans of stories like Julia Donaldson’s The Snail and the Whale, well-loved tale The Rainbow Fish, or the marvellous swashbuckling adventure Pi-rat!, this party is the ideal way to set sail on your special day.

Monsters, Aliens and Wild Things

Feeling brave? Why not gather together a gaggle of wild things and head along to The Storybarn for a wild rumpus like no other! Expect all kinds of adventures – designing our own monsters, dreaming up planets and going totally wild with a spot of alien dancing! Perfect for little monsters who are fans of stories like Where the Wild Things Are and The Way Back Home, this party package is guaranteed to provide plenty of out-of-this world fun.

Fantastic Fairytales

Let The Storybarn cast a spell on your special day as we wave our magic wands and conjure up a whole host of adventures designed to warm our hearts and sprinkle some magic – perhaps we’ll meet some elves with an eye for designing beautiful shoes, a family of bears with a great fondness for porridge, or maybe even a big scary wolf…the choice is yours! Don your fairy wings, capes and crowns and join us as we share fantastic fairytales and create some magical masterpieces.
Texts to choose from: Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, The Elves and the Shoemaker.

Charming Creatures

Ideal for animal lovers of all ages, come along and celebrate with some of our favourite creatures as we open up a treasure trove of tales all about things with tails (not to mention claws, beaks, wings and fur!) We’ll be getting creative with some critter-themed crafts, trying our paws at animal dancing, and don’t forget to dig out your mouse ears and join us in fancy dress – let’s create our very own Storybarn menagerie!

Brilliant Books Bash

Calling all bookworms! Celebrating stories all about stories, this party is ideal for anyone who loves books just as much as we do here at The Storybarn! Ideal for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ magnificent tale of The Incredible Book Eating Boy, or Ralfy Rabbit, that rather mischievous book burglar, this party will see us bringing to life our very own stories and creating some book-themed artwork in our craft studio – be sure to invite your imagination along to join in the fun!

How to Book:

For further details and availability, email storybarn@thereader.org.uk, call us on 0151 729 2227 or pop in and see us at The Storybarn or the The Reader Ice Cream Parlour.


FAQs:

do I have to provide food for the party at the storybarn?

You’re welcome to bring your own food along but this cannot be eaten in The Storybarn, no-one likes a sticky book! There is plenty of space in the park to use or for an additional £50 you can hire the studio space in The Reader Ice Cream Parlour for an hour.

If you would like us to provide party food choose from Children’s Party Snack Boxes (sandwich, crisps, sweet snack and drink) for £5 pp or a Hot Dog and Milkshake for £3.95 pp.

How long can we hire the Reader ice cream parlour for?

For an additional £50, you can have exclusive use of The Reader Ice Cream Parlour studio space for an hour after your session in The Storybarn, plenty of time to sing happy birthday and blow out some candles. You’re more than welcome to stay longer, but we may need to reopen the space to the public if we’re busy.

Do Adults attending the party have to pay extra?

Our £230 party package includes up to 30 children and 10 adults, if you expect more than 10 adults in attendance please let us know when we’re planning your party.

Is the price inclusive of vat?

Entry to The Storybarn is not subject to VAT. Priced quoted for space hire and food orders are inclusive of VAT.